A state-owned enterprise in India is called a public sector undertaking (PSU). Those companies are owned by the union government of India or one of the many state or territorial governments or both. The company stock needs to be majority-owned by the government to be a PSU. PSUs strictly may be classified as central public sector enterprises (CPSEs) or state level public enterprises (SLPEs). CPSEs are companies in which the direct holding of the Central Government or other CPSEs is 51% or more. They are administered by the Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises.

Maharatna PSUs:

Maharatna Companies. In India, State owned ventures are known as Public Sector Undertaking (PSU) or Public sector enterprise. … PSUs are further categorized into three levels named as State Level Public Enterprises (SLPEs), Central Public Sector Enterprises (CPSEs), and Public sector banks (PSBs).

Navratna PSUs:

Navratna status is presented to the organizations by the Department of Public Enterprises. To be qualified as a Navratna, the organization must get a score of 60 out of 100. The score depends on six parameters which incorporate net benefit to total assets, all out labor cost to add up to cost of creation or cost of administrations, PBDIT (Profit before deterioration, premium and assessments) to capital utilized, PBDIT to turnover, EPS (Earning per Share) and between sectoral execution. Furthermore, an organization should initially be a Miniratna and have four free chiefs on its board before it tends to be made a Navratna. The Navratna status offers benefits to upgrade money related and operational self-sufficiency and enables them to contribute up to Rs. 1000 crores or 15% of their total assets on a solitary venture without looking for government endorsement. In a year, these organizations can spend up to 30% of their total assets not surpassing Rs. 1000 crores.

Status Number Of PSUs

Maharatna 8
Navratna 16
Miniratna Catagory-I 60
Miniratna Catagory-II 18